top of page
Writer's pictureGwen Camacho

Primero

Updated: Nov 7, 2021

Travelling or taking a trip is often dubbed as an ultimate 'getaway.' I once questioned, is your everyday life really that bad that you have to get away? A feeling of ambivalence emerged when I used that term until I changed its definition in my head.



Welcome my dear readers! I use this space to connect with you in a way that's current and interesting. Think of this as an ongoing conversation with me where I can share updates about my journey, thoughts, and more.

 

A getaway is a moment spent away from my comfort zone to completely switch my brain to focus on something else totally different in order to rejuvenate my energy, mentally, and emotionally. In my daily life, I usually do the same routine that I can easily switch to an autopilot mode—where I can no longer have to think and I just go with the motion of my actions. While that could be a good thing in terms of survival, it does not nourish me emotionally. Thus, it is so important to have that switch once in a while. There are more ways to do it, but for the purpose of this blog, I will focus on travel. I have traveled quite a few and I can testify how travelling transformed the way I perceive myself personally.


So, here are my reasons why travelling is a good form of therapy:


The therapeutic benefit of traveling begins during the planning phase.

"Life is either a daring adventure, or nothing at all." - Helen Keller

The anticipation of a trip can evoke positive emotions as we vividly visualize our destination and the activities to happen.


When I get to my destination, I become carefree.


I no longer worry (or not as much) about my stressors at home. It is as if I am in a different dimension of the world. Even better, perhaps I now experience a new version of myself.


I become curious about my surroundings.


It is truly like being a kid again. I notice every sight and every sound. The moment is finally here, and I am living every minute of it!


I now have a broader understanding of the world.


This can become a humbling experience as I learn to place more value and appreciation on what I have and gain more respect for other people's way of life. This holds especially true when I visit a developing place.


Travel can evoke various emotions that can lead to a deeper introspection.

"Travel isn't always pretty. It isn't always comfortable. Sometimes it hurts, it even breaks your heart. But that's okay. The journey changes you; it should change you. It leaves marks on your memory, on your consciousness, on your heart, and on your body. You take something with you. Hopefully, you leave something good behind." - Anthony Bourdain

Travel memories can last forever. Not only can it sustain us during lonely times, but it can also trigger a feeling of immense joy.


"Travellingit leaves you speechless, then turns you into a storyteller." - Ibn Battuta

27 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page